Defining “social networks” and “social networking”…

First task for INF506… definitions, experience and expectation of purpose…

An online social network service isINF506post1

  • a digital platform where people can create an account
  • establish a profile
  • “friend” other people to create a community
  • participate in conversations and sharing to build relationships and learn
  • build a reputation within that online space
  • extend involvement by connecting with others to collaborate across a range of groups

There are a vast array of social networking sites and means of connecting with people online, and deciding which groups to join and participate in is a question of time spent… it’s easy to spend too much! When online social networking began it seemed like it was the solution to our society’s need to connect… it is difficult now to remember what it was like before twitter, facebook, reddit, YouTube etc.

I’ve been dabbling in social networking for many years now… I joined twitter in May, 2009 and Yammer in June, 2010… and have gradually developed a comfort zone with connecting and communicating across a range of platforms, and contributing in those platforms by sharing and building community.

Social NetworkingI currently maintain accounts on both NSW DoE and TAFE yammers, twitter, edmodo, Instagram, Facebook, google+, TL Ning, Educator’s PLN Ning, Ozteachers google group, Weebly, WordPress, YouTube, delicious, Pinterest, Goodreads… hmm probably too many! I particularly enjoy connecting with followers of certain hashtags on twitter including #DLchat, #tlchat, #AussieEd and the #satchat collection.

Over the years I have reflected on the importance of social networking and how it has built my PLN (Professional Learning Network) and realise it has afforded a range of amazing opportunities to learn from experienced and generous educators across a wide range of topics that have enhanced the learning of my students. I have been involved in a range of projects as a result. I have organised a number of PLN meetups at conferences in order to meet IRL (in real life) people that I have known for many years online and it is always fascinating to meet people for the first time when they have been online friends for years.

What I expect to learn from completing INF506…

My role as a Teacher Librarian includes supervision of a range of social networking profiles for my library and my school. This is a significant responsibility since it directly affects the reputation and brand of my school. I take this role very seriously and hope that INF506 will provide a deeper understanding of the policy structure and planning required to achieve best practice in social networking management for my school.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *